Entertainment

Please call Ellen Biernacki, 505-269-1036, if you want tickets to any of the following events. We get a fantastic discount from Popejoy Hall.

Ellen normally attends the general meetings and has a sign-up list for attending any events listed below. Please have a check (preferably) or cash ready to pay Ellen for your tickets.

  • We are looking for an interested club member who might want to be the Entertainment Chair. If you like interacting with your fellow members, consider becoming a Board member and the Chair of Entertainment. If you are interested, contact VP/Programs, Dave Melgaard.

ALL POPEJOY PRESENTS PERFORMANCES ARE CANCELLED AT LEAST UNTIL JUNE 2020

Hold onto any tickets you may have for cancelled performances; the rescheduled dates are below:

    • 2019/2020 Season – Popejoy Presents
      (To get the Popejoy group rates, we need a minimum of 10 people going to a show.)
    • The following shows have been rescheduled from their original dates. If you are a ticket holder for any of the shows and unable to attend on the new date, you may either receive a refund or donate your tickets back to Popejoy. If you would like to receive a refund or donate your tickets, please email UNM Ticketing Services at unmtix@unm.edu.
      • Come From Away — Tue, Jun 9-Sun, Jun 14, 2020, various times
      • Drum Tao 2020— Sun, Sep 27, 2020, 4:00 pm
      • Broadway Princess Party—Sun, Oct 4, 2020, 3:00 pm
      • Canadian Brass—Sun, Oct 25, 2020, 3:00 pm
      • Killer Queen—Mon, Nov 2, 2020, 7:00 pm

Popejoy Hall—2020/2021 Season

(To get the Popejoy group rates, we need a minimum of 10 people going to a show.)

  • The Righteous Brothers — Sun, Oct 18, 2020, 3:00 pm
  • Ailey II— Sun, Nov 1, 2020, 6:30 pm
  • Capitol Steps—Sun, Nov 8, 2020, 3:00 pm
  • American Ballet Theatre Studio Company—Fri, Nov 13, 2020, 7:30 pm
  • Cirque Mechanics—Birdhouse Factory—Fri, Nov 20, 2020, 7:30 pm
  • Anastasia—Thu, Dec 10-Sun, Dec 13, 2020, various times
  • Christmas with The 5 Browns—Fri, Dec 18, 2020, 7:30 pm
  • Mariachi Christmas—Sun, Dec 20, 2020, 3:00 pm
  • The Temptations—Sun, Jan 10, 2021, 3:00 pm
  • Hamilton—Tue, Jan 19-Sun, Feb 7, 2021, various times.

HAMILTON is the story of America then, told by America now. Featuring a score that blends hip-hop, jazz, R&B, and Broadway, HAMILTON has taken the story of American founding father Alexander HAMILTON and created a revolutionary moment in theatre—a musical that has had a profound impact on culture, politics, and education.

With book, music, and lyrics by Lin-Manuel Miranda, direction by Thomas Kail, choreography by Andy Blankenbuehler, and musical supervision and orchestrations by Alex Lacamoire, HAMILTON is based on Ron Chernow’s acclaimed biography. It has won Tony®, Grammy®, and Olivier Awards, the Pulitzer Prize for Drama, and an unprecedented special citation from the Kennedy Center Honors.

Related information on HAMILTON is available through August 2020: www.gilderlehrman.org/programs-and-events/eduham-home

  • The Peking Acrobats— Fri, Feb 12, 2021, 7:30 pm
  • Lucy Loves Desi—Sun, Feb 14, 2021, 3:00 pm
  • Sweet Honey in the Rock: A Tribute to Prince—Fri, Feb 19, 2021, 7:30 pm
  • The Glenn Miller Orchestra—Sun, Feb 21, 2021, 3:00 pm
  • The TEN Tenors—Love is in the Air—Sat, Feb 27, 2021, 8:00 pm
  • The Cher Show—Wed, Mar 3-Sun, Mar 7, 2021, various times  THIS SHOW HAS BEEN CANCELLED.
    If you have subscribed to the 2020-2021 Broadway in New Mexico Series including THE CHER SHOW, you have a few options.

    • Obtain a refund
    • Donate the value of your tickets back to Popejoy Hall
    • Exchange the value of your tickets towards an Ovation Series performance

     

    Refunds will be automatically issued on Monday, June 1 if we do not receive an email with your donation or exchange preferences prior to that date.

    If you’d like to donate or exchange your tickets, please email unmtix@unm.edu by Friday, May 29, with your choices. 

  • Viva MOMIX—Fri, Mar 12, 2021, 7:30 pm
  • The Daily Show Writers Comedy Tour—Sat, Mar 13, 2021, 8:00 pm
  • National Dance Company of Siberia—Mar 14, 2021, 3:00 pm
  • Danύ—Wed, Mar 17, 2021, 7:30 pm
  • A Tribute to Aretha Franklin: The Queen of Soul—Fri, Mar 19, 2021, 7:30 pm
  • Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde—Sat, Mar 20, 2021, 8:00 pm
  • Macbeth—Sun, Mar 21, 2021, 3:00 pm
  • Bessie, Billie & Nina—Pioneering Women in Jazz—Sun, Mar 28, 2021, 6:30 pm
  • Hairspray—Thu, Apr 8-Sun, Apr 11, 2021, various times
  • Jersey Boys—Thu, May 13-Sun, May 16, 2021, various times

Albuquerque Little Theatre

The Box Office is closed until further notice. You may check www.albuquerquelittletheatre.org to find out about current ticket reservations.

 

Adobe Theater

Once it is safe to do so, our 2020 season will resume with The Bridges of Madison County (the Musical). All previously purchased tickets for this production will be honored.

In the meantime: