Awards and Recipients

The Coronado Thunderbirds recognizes member service with the following awards:

  • The Founders Award for meritorious service to the Coronado Thunderbirds, The Mountain View Club, and the Community.
  • The Distinguished Service Award for extensive work for the Coronado Thunderbirds.
  • The Long Term Leadership Award for continuous leadership in excess of ten years.

On September 8, 2020, at the Zoom Virtual General Monthly Meeting, a Distinguished Service Award was presented to Vice President/Programs Dave Melgaard. During the COVID-19 pandemic, Dave helped keep our Club flourishing via the use of Zoom Virtual Meeting software. He was host for our Board and member meetings, keeping everyone informed of when the meetings would take place and acting as the Zoom Meister for our members. He also convinced many interesting speakers to present topics via Zoom.

Past Treasurer Lionel Holguin was honored for his meticulous accounting abilities, and his many thoughtful ideas and contributions to improve the way the Club operates. Lionel was presented a Founders Award.

Publicity/Newsletter Editor/Web Site Administrator Connie DeFoe was recognized with a Founders Award. Connie tries to keep the Web site up-to-date and works to keep members informed of activities of the Club and at MVC/KAFB, including activities affected by COVID-19 protocols. Connie also worked on measures to keep the Web site information secured against copying or ending up in browser search results.


On January 14, 2020, at the Monthly General Meeting, President/Returning President John P. Anthes handed out two Special Recognition Awards for Past Service. Those awards went to Paul Hlava,  for serving as President for two terms (2018-2019), and to Lionel Holguin, for his years of service as the Vice President/Programs and Treasurer (2017-2019).





The 2019 Annual Awards were presented at the October 8, 2019, meeting.  Pete Havey, Sr., and John P. Anthes both received the Founders Award. The Founders Award is given for meritorious service to the Coronado Thunderbirds, The Mountain View Club, and the Community.



  • An infrequently-awarded recognition is the Long Term Leadership Award. Another such award is the Special Recognition Award:
Long Term Leadership Awards
Special Recognition Awards
Year              Winner Year              Winner
2003 Bob Butler*
1999 Mike Michnovicz
2017 Ken Deller
2001 Adron Pritchard
2017 Charles Vittitoe 2020 Paul Hlava
2020 Lionel Holguin

*Bob Butler received the award in 2003. He first became a Club member in 1986, served as its president for 3 terms and as its travel leader and newsletter editor for many years.

  • Many others have been huge contributors to the Club. By naming some, unfortunately it is likely that some will be omitted; senior moments, lack of information, time, … are all to blame. Those who have been granted Founders Awards and Distinguished Service Awards are:
Founders Awards Distinguished Service Awards
Year Winner Year Winner
1994 Nick Delollis 1997 Jim Caller, first Treasurer
1995 Harold Barnett 2001 Leonard Flesner
1996 Art Hasenkamp 2001 Angie Vergo
1997 Bob Butler 2002 Dick Jorgenson
1998 Dale Buchanan 2003 Lucille Kinzer
1999 Bob Martin 2004 Ken Deller
2001 Ramona Rael 2005 Joe Sorroche, 1st president at MVC
2002 Marv Plugge 2006 Helen Flesner
2003 Len Flesner 2006 Al Hachigian
2005 Ken Deller 2007 Dale Breding
2007 Joe Sorroche 2008 Rod Boenig
2009 Charles Vittitoe 2008 Charles Vittitoe
2011 Genelia Boenig 2009 Gilbert Cano
2011 Gilbert Cano 2009 Ed Reyes
2013 Adron Pritchard 2010 Genelia Boenig
2013 Vickie Clark 2010 Adron Pritchard
2014 Ed Reyes 2012 Vickie Clark
2015 Ellen Biernacki 2013 Jesse Allen
2017 Jesse Allen
2014 Richard Gido
2019 John P. Anthes 2016 Barbara Desilets
2019 Pete Havey, Sr. 2017 John P. Anthes
2020 Connie DeFoe 2017 Connie DeFoe
2020 Lionel Holguin 2017 Pete Havey, Sr.
2018 Ellen Biernacki
2018 Lionel Holguin
2018 Johanna James
2018 Guylaine Pollock
2020 Dave Melgaard


Several are mentioned that have contributed to the Web site: Len Flesner for our site map; Dick Jorgensen for the Thunderbird symbol, and the 2010 Board of Directors for their critiques.